The Sanyasis of the Akhada are given names from the Dasanami nomenclature. The Dasamani names are: Saraswathi, Bharathi, Puri, Giri, Parvath, Sagara, Tirtha, Ashrama, Vana, Aranya. The Acharya of the Akhada gives these names based on the aptitude and geography of residence of the Sanyasi.  All 10 names are available for the Acharya Mahamandaleshwars of the Akhada. These names were later also used by Shankara when he wrote the Amnaya pathathi for the Shankara Mutts. But unlike the Akhadas, the Acharya’s of the Shankara Mutts are restricted to a smaller subset of the names.

The Sanyasis belong to one of the 52 Marhis of the Akhada. The Marhis are thought to refer to 52 lineages of Panthis. But in actuality they refer to the 52 Desas (countries) of Akhanda Bharath (Greater Bharath). Each Marhi is responsible for the people of that Desa and their well being. Over time, however,  the movement of boundaries and kingdoms and the relocation of Mutts has made this division less clear.

The 52 Marhis are divided into 8 Davas corresponding to the 8 directions.

The administration of the Akhadas follows a democratic system. At the top is the Sri Pach which is an elected group of Nagas and Mahants that administers the day to day functioning of the Akhada.

Properties belonging to the Akhada are managed by Mahants and Sri Mahants. They are assisted by Kotaris and others.

Mahamandaleshwars  are typically appointed from outside the Akhadas and are various leaders who have established themselves as Jagadgurus. Mahanirvani Akhada currently has 60 Mahamandaleshwars.

The Acharya Mahamandaleshwar, elected from the Mahamandaleshwars, is at the head of the Akhada and handles all the decision making and strategizing for the Akhada.

The Akhil Bharatiya Akhada Parishad is the apex body comprising of members from all the Akhadas that acts as a spokesperson for all the Akhadas.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here